The Student Groups section of the Gradebook settings tab allows the user to manage students in the gradebook. The user can assign groups of students to the gradebook. If the Gradebook was created with a class on the details tab, a student group will automatically be assigned consisting of the students enrolled in the class. Multiple student groups can be assigned to a single Gradebook. These groups can be managed in Homeroom.
Students who are no longer associated to the student group (student has changed classes / schools or have withdrawn) may still show in the gradebook, because the student has associated data (they have been assigned an assignment, or been given a score / grade). This sections allows the user to 'hide' those students so they are no longer visible in the list of students in the gradebook.
Add Student Group:
Show Withdrawn Students:
To hide the students who are no longer in the student group associated to the gradebook,
- click the button to the right of 'Show Withdrawn Students'
- click the save & continue or save & exit
This will hide the students in the list of student groups.
The Students are hidden, they are not removed. This keeps the gradebook data associated to the student, which means any assignment answers / scores will be saved. If any grading has been done, such as class term grades / comments, learning standard grades / comments, non academic measure grades / comments, those are still available and will shown on the report card.
After the students are 'hidden' they are no longer visible on the scoring tabs, such as the grading for class terms, learning standards or non academic measures. This also means any functionality that would apply to 'all' students, would not apply to the hidden students, such as Apply Grades to Ungraded Students / All Students, Append Comment to All Students, or Remove Comment from All Student.